National Atomic Testing Museum Las Vegas – An Enlightening and Informative Place

I felt the excitement never ending because after the fountains, it was to visit the National Atomic Testing Museum Las Vegas as it is one of the most sought-after places for national as well as international tourists. Situated in Flamingo road the timings of the museum are from 10.00 AM to 5.00 PM on Mondays to Saturdays and on Sundays the timings are from 12.00 noon to 5.00 PM. It is closed on all the key holidays. Located on an area of nearly eight thousand square feet this museum is a must visit place.

national atomic testing museum las vegas

National Atomic Testing Museum Las Vegas | Image Resource : commons.wikimedia.org

As soon as I entered this museum I found that the visitors belonged to almost all the generations. I was surprised and eventually happy as I had no inkling that even children or youngsters preferred this type of excursions. There was a theatre which was called Ground Zero and this place showcased the historical scientific events. Artifacts belonging to the historical events which have taken place were also exhibited. I learned a lot about the Cold War and the Nuclear Race between the countries. A video featuring some scientific facts was also played.

underground testing tunnel in national atomic testing museum las vegas

Underground Testing Tunnel in National Atomic Testing Museum Las Vegas | Image Resource : atomictestingmuseum.org

I acknowledged a very true fact that we humans are very selfish creatures. In the name of science, the atomic and nuclear weapons were created but they brought about mass destruction. At least people have become aware of the fact and the governments are trying to use the nuclear knowledge for the welfare of people. For example, they are creating and supplying electricity through it. I also found a gift store in the premises from where I bought some gift items for my near and dear ones as I knew that they would be expecting gifts after my international tour.

I took many pictures through my SRL camera for remembrance. Photography at some of the places was prohibited but most of the places were open for taking pictures. The visit to National Atomic Testing Museum Las Vegas has been an informative and enlightening experience. I enjoyed my visit very much as I have come to know a lot. It took nearly three hours to see the museum in all its glory and by the end of the visit I was planning for the trip to Titanic the Artifact Exhibition Las Vegas.

Leave a Reply

